Update on the reloading thingy

I changed from round-nosed to flat-point bullets in 124g Frontier CMJ and changed the powder behind them to MP200 from S121. There could be a difference, but I’m not sure I’m good enough to tell.

As stated in a previous post, one of South Africa’s top shooters told me I’d be more accurate with my pistol, if I worked on the ammunition a bit. He said with a slower-burning powder, flat-nosed bullets and a shorter cartridge over-all length (COL), he went from barely hitting the target at 20 m to shooting a group. And the man can shoot!

So I did just that. Loaded to about 1060 fps, I am getting fair results. Most (90%) of the rounds in an 8 inch circle at 20 m. Not timed, but still good for my level of competency.

But is it really better?

Well, I’ve been doing a lot of dry and live-fire recently, so that may have a little to do with my accuracy improvement. But I like to think that the change in loading recipe helped a bit too.

Leave a comment