Movement is not an option yet

So yesterday I decided to skip a bit on my practice schedule and go play at the JDPC shooting range. It was cold, windy and a few guys stayed at home. I was there to get proper hits on all the targets and get no PEs. All good on the second goal.

The first one, well, you know … we get what we deserve, not necessarily what we want.

I’ve been quiet on here for a while; all the while furiously squirreling away at dry fire, a match here and there and live-fire practice once a week. Shot some steel at Rooikraal. Did a lot of El Presidente drills. And listened to Steve Anderson and Van Halen when he played it.

Oh, and lost 22kg in the last seven weeks. That, while helping me to turn into a racing snake, was not due to my preparation of next weekend, however. I’m fighting high blood sugar (and I’m winning that).

One bullet in the hostage, then another

But back to the JDPC shoot. There I was, standing on Stage Five. Sean Esterhuizen design, with four targets down the left and four down the right. Two no shoots squeezed in between two relatively easy targets. And three more targets at the end of the run, if I recall correctly. Until this COF, things had been going well. But then I decided, “This is a club shoot, let’s try something different”. That’s all good and well, but I haven’t practiced what I was trying to do, and …

Yeah, you guessed it. Two shots into the hostage, while shooting on the move. I called the first, but had no idea about the second. There is no doubt in my mind that my stage plan was the correct one. The only issue is that I don’t know how to shoot on the move. And, with the Africa Championships around the corner, chances are that I will not learn how to do that in five or so days.

I am not going to try. I also screwed up both drop turners. I need to build myself one.

This week, until Thursday or so, I’ll double the time on my dry-fire sessions. I’ll shoot another club shoot on Tuesday morning with acceptable shots as the only goal. But then it’s off to the races. I cannot wait.

Leave a comment