Little mistakes go a long way

03 June 2016

Part 1

bullets
Except for a light strike now and then, they are now good to go.

As I’ve said somewhere else on the blog, the month of May is busy for South African IDPA shooters. League upon league and there is even a classifier or two to keep the bunch honest before the first big match of the year in June.

I roll my own and decide that, with a few public holidays in hand, I’d try to move ahead of the pack and fill a few ammo boxes … a grand and noble idea, one could say. But, before I can start, I need to take the hopper off the 9mm turret head (I needed a few rounds for Steel Challenge) and put it back on the .45ACP setup.

Reloading is not new to me anymore and I find it rather tedious, to be honest. I use the Lee Classic Turret. It does all it promises to do and more, but I can only do about 200 rounds in an hour while keeping my concentration. As you will see in Part 2, “my concentration” is relative anyway. This time the press spills a few flecks of powder per round. It bothers me, but not so much that I stop.

My process is to check the powder in every 20 or 30 rounds or so. It looks OK, I don’t weigh it and I load up around 400. And I cart off about 100 of those to the range to chrony and for some accuracy practice. Which is also good!

At around the 3rd shot, the report and recoil is less than expected. Much less. So I rip out the barrel and have a look. No squib. Reassemble and shooting again. Two shots later. No report, no recoil. I rip out the barrel and there it is. No sunshine coming through! The squib is about halfway down, another round would easily chamber but fortunately the slide did not have enough momentum to grab another round from the magazine. I remove the squib, thinking I’ve made a mistake … first time ever in .45ACP … and surely it cannot happen again.

In shooting out the rest of the 100 rounds, I have “light” shots at a ratio of about two in 10. I have three more squibs! Something is really, really wrong … 45acp

Click here for part 2

1 thought on “Little mistakes go a long way”

Leave a Reply

